Working with Outlook

Close Window 

Deleting Outlook Items

Normally, when you delete an Outlook item (a message, an appointment, a task, or whatever), Outlook sends that item to the Deleted Items folder. This is handy if you decide later on that you didn't really want to delete it after all. (If that's the case, all you have to do is take the item out of the Deleted Items folder.) But what if you're sure you'll never want to see that Outlook item again? In that case, you can delete it straightaway. Here's how:

  1. Select the item.

  2. Press and hold the Shift key.

  3. Click the Delete button on the toolbar.

  4. Release the Shift key.

  5. Click Yes to confirm your action.

Or you can do it this way:

  1. Right-click the item.

  2. Press and hold the Shift key.

  3. Select Delete from the shortcut menu.

  4. Release the Shift key.

  5. Click Yes to confirm your action.

(Posted 06/01/2004)